top of page

Blog: More products for getting ready under 15 minutes

In my years of trial and error as a beauty writer and editor I’ve tried tens of products; these precious three have made the cut to my top products for getting ready under 15 minutes.


Inglot HD Illuminizing Loose Powder in 45

Inglot HD Illuminizing Loose Powder in 45


I tend to stay away from eyeshadow, powders and foundation that contain shimmer as they tend to make my skin sparkle (which can be distracting and not at all flattering) rather than glowing. Most loose powders tend to have a mattifying effect, which can dull the skin’s natural glow especially after oxidisation from hours of wear. So I tend to choose a setting/ loose powder one shade lighter than my natural skin tone to offset the dulling effect from oxidisation, which unfortunately can make my dark circles look darker than I would like (even after treated with fillers). In spite of being milled with tiny gold particles, the application looks just like my own skin, only better, with no hint of distracting sparkle. Plus it applies evenly with a powder brush — which offsets undereye darkness wonderfully! Even after some hours of wear, there is no caking under the eyes and undereye fine lines are not accentuated. I have been converted! And this is high praise for a brand loyalist like me. Just ensure that you find exactly the right shade, which I have! For the best effect, apply corrector and/or concealor first followed by loose powder.


For a list of all Inglot outlets, click here.


Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Cream

Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Cream


I first tried a travel sampler on a flight to Bali and I was surprised that even with one  application, my skin looks moist and not at all parched from the dry cabin air. The Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Cream has now become an essential final step in my skincare regimen just before bedtime. My husband likes the bedroom to be one or two degrees cooler than I would like, which can be drying for my skin, but this cream preserves moisture levels in my skin right through the night; my skin feels hydrated even in the morning and after a splash of cold water. Makeup sets better after application too, especially after an application of the Kiehl’s Sunscreen. It has no fragrance — one of my favourite things about it — and gets absorbed really quickly into the skin. It also prolongs and preserves the glow after laser treatments, such as the zero downtime and near-painless Picosure treatment that I had at the Dr Joseph Yang’s aesthetic clinic at Wisma Atria! Plus you can carry travel-sized samples of the cream in your carry-on luggage with no hassle.


For a list of Kiehl’s outlets, click here


Catrice Lipstick in Ultimate Colour 020


Catrice Ultimate Colour Lipstick in 020


I think I have complained before that there are not enough drug store makeup solutions in Singapore, but when Catrice made its entry into selected Watsons and Guardian Pharmacies I rubbed my hands with glee! I was looking for an easy to wear nude-ish brown that is not too pink and not too matte that can accentuate smoky eyes for a night out yet not look too pale on its own with a bit of blusher for a daytime do. This colour is perfect, probably suits most skin tones and is very moisturising on the lips. It didn’t win the Singapore Women’s Weekly Beauty Awards in 2015 for nothing!


Catrice cosmetics are available in selected Watsons and Guardian Pharmacies.

bottom of page